The Official Website of Douglas Clegg
For Fans
For Booksellers

The Abandoned: The Harrow Series, Book 4

The Abandoned

Buy the ebook in your preferred format:



Teenage girls with hatchets, kids with knives, and a newly-arrived Nightwatchman at Harrow — the most haunted house in the world. In this all-out horror chiller – Book #4 in the Harrow series from award-winning and bestselling novelist Douglas Clegg.

The old abandoned mansion on the edge of town infects the dreams and nightmares of those who sleep. Children turn against parents, old friends arrive with hatchets in hand — and only a handful of people are strong enough to resist the seductive whisper of Harrow’s haunting.

The Horror of the Damned…

What’s been trapped inside the house has begun leaking like a poison into the village itself. A teenage girl sleeps too much, but when she awakens her nightmares break loose. A little boy encounters the ultimate fear when the house calls to him. A young woman must face unspeakable terror to keep Harrow from destroying everything she loves.

And somewhere within the house, a demented child waits with teeth like knives.

Warning: Not for the faint of heart.

“Clegg’s stories can chill the spine so effectively that the reader should keep paramedics on standby.” – Dean Koontz

“Clegg is the best horror writer of the post-Stephen King generation.”- Bentley Little, bestselling author of The Haunting.

“Douglas Clegg has become the new star in horror fiction.” – Peter Straub, NY Times bestselling author of The Talisman (with Stephen King) and Ghost Story.


  • Book #1, Nightmare House - set at Harrow in the 1920s, the grandson of its creator has come to claim his deadly inheritance and explore the terrifying mystery within the ancient stones and passages of the house.
  • #2, Mischief - Boys will be boys — and a dark fraternity of misfits seek out Jim Hook, the new student at Harrow Academy — but something more terrifying is hunting Jim, as well.
  • #3, The Infinite - A handful of psychic investigators are called in to document the horrors of Harrow — but little do they know that the house is more than simply a haunted place — it may be the soul of evil itself.
  • #4, The Abandoned – In the village of Watch Point, New York, in the bucolic Hudson Valley, something toxic and horrifying has leaked from the old boarded-up mansion called Harrow. Throughout the town, people who sleep awaken with blood-lust in their hearts — and hatchets in their fists. A rampage of mayhem, murder and madness begins — and only those brave enough to enter Harrow may find a way to stop the terror.




  • The Necromancer - set in the 1800s, this is the story of the young Justin Gravesend and his initiation into a terrifying mystery cult.
  • Isis - set right at the end of the 1800s, the story of the young Iris Villiers when she discovers the terrible price that must be paid to speak with the dead.


Douglas Clegg is proudly powered by WordPress | Entries (RSS) and Comments (RSS).
Site design by Deena Warner Design LLC, with additional illustration by Glenn Chadbourne from the book, Isis.